+ Filters
New Search
Available Exact wording Only in the title

fwo_685791 - CANADA 1 Penny token Bank of Upper Canada 1857 Heaton

CANADA 1 Penny token Bank of Upper Canada 1857 Heaton VF
22.00 €(Approx. 23.98$ | 18.48£)
Add to your cartAdd to your cart
Type : 1 Penny token Bank of Upper Canada
Date: 1857
Mint name / Town : Heaton
Quantity minted : 1500000
Metal : copper
Diameter : 33,4 mm
Orientation dies : 6 h.
Weight : 15,50 g.
Edge : lisse
Coments on the condition:
Exemplaire présentant des coups
Catalogue references :


Obverse legend : BANK OF UPPER CANADA // . 1857 ..
Obverse description : Saint Georges à cheval terrassant le dragon.
Obverse translation : (Banque du Haut Canada).


Reverse legend : BANK TOKEN // * ONE · PENNY *.
Reverse description : couronne, épée et ancre croisées, deux cornes d’abondance, Union Jack.
Reverse translation : (Jeton de banque // un penny).


La province du Haut Canada (Upper Canada) a été créée en 1791. Elle résulte de la division de la Province de Québec en Haut-Canada et Bas-Canada. Cette province correspond à la partie sud de l’actuel Ontario.

Historical background


On February 15, 1965, on Parliament Hill in Ottawa, the ceremony to unveil the Canadian flag took place, in the presence of Governor General Georges Vanier, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson and Cabinet members, as well as thousands of citizens. First descend the Red Ensign, bearing the Union Jack and the shield of the Royal Arms of Canada. Then, at the stroke of noon, we hoist the maple leaf. The crowd then sings the national anthem O Canada followed by the royal anthem God save the Queen. The words spoken that day by Maurice Bourget, President of the Senate, give an even more symbolic meaning to this flag: "The flag is the symbol of the unity of the nation, because it represents without a shadow of a doubt all citizens of Canada, without distinction of race, language, creed or opinion". The second largest country in the world by area, Canada occupies most of North America. It stretches east to west from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean and north to the Arctic Ocean and it shares two borders with the United States to the south and northwest (Alaska). First occupied by Aboriginal peoples, the country was born from the union of three British colonies, which were French colonies at the time of New France.. Today it is a federal state of ten provinces and three territories. Canada gained its independence from the United Kingdom peacefully in a process that spanned from 1867 to 1982.

cgb.fr uses cookies to guarantee a better user experience and to carry out statistics of visits.
To remove the banner, you must accept or refuse their use by clicking on the corresponding buttons.