+ Filters
New Search
Available Exact wording Only in the title

Live auction - fwo_548813 - SWITZERLAND - CONFEDERATION 5 Francs 1850 Paris

You must sign-in and be an approved bidder to bid, Login to bid. Accounts are subject to approval and the approval process takes place within 48 hours. Do not wait until the day a sale closes to register.Clicking on « bid » constitutes acceptance of the terms of use of cgb.fr private live auctions. Bids must be placed in whole Euro amounts only. The sale will start closing at the time stated on the item description; any bids received at the site after the closing time will not be executed. Transmission times may vary and bids could be rejected if you wait until the last second. For further information ckeck the Live auction FAQ

All winning bids are subject to a 12% buyer’s fee.
Estimate : 220 €
Price : 120 €
Maximum bid : 125 €
End of the sale : 29 October 2019 18:03:08
bidders : 1 bidder
Type : 5 Francs
Date: 1850
Mint name / Town : Paris
Quantity minted : 2500000
Metal : silver
Millesimal fineness : 900 ‰
Diameter : 37 mm
Orientation dies : 12 h.
Weight : 25 g.
Edge : cannelée
Rarity : R1
Catalogue references :


Obverse legend : HELVETIA/ A. BOVY.
Obverse description : La Suisse assise à gauche, levant la main droite et tenant un écu à ses armes devant un paysage montagneux ; à l'exergue main et tête de levrette.


Reverse legend : 5 FR. // 1850 // A.
Reverse description : dans une couronne composite.


Frappe médaille.

Historical background


(Since 1848)

Swiss Confederation was formed in 1848. She adopted the Swiss Franc, pegged to the French franc in 1850. It joined the Latin Union in December 1865. Shooting currencies were made every two to three years from 1855 and the festival of Solothurn. The first competition took place in 1842 and 1847 in Graubunden Glarus. In the nineteenth century, festivals shot that gave the opportunity to make coins were 1855 Solothurn, Bern 1857, 1859 Zürich, 1861 Nidwalden, 1863 La Chaux de Fonds (Neuchâtel), 1865 Schaffhausen, Schwyz 1867 1869 Zug, 1872 Zürich, 1874 St. Gallen, Lausanne 1876, 1879 Basel, Fribourg 1881, 1883 and 1885 Lugano Bern.

cgb.fr uses cookies to guarantee a better user experience and to carry out statistics of visits.
To remove the banner, you must accept or refuse their use by clicking on the corresponding buttons.